Helping People Save Lives — Everyday!

Training / Heart & Stroke Courses / BLS – Provider (Day)

Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada - HSFC:

BLS Provider course includes:

CPR & AED + BVM, AR, Pulse Checking (Adult, Child, Infant)

Description: Basic Life Support (BLS) is the foundational emergency cardiovascular course for all healthcare professionals and first responders intended to help improve patient outcomes. BLS teaches both single-rescuer and team basic life support skills for application in pre-hospital and in-facility settings. Current BLS status is a pre-requisite for advanced resuscitation courses and is also a requirement in most healthcare settings. Basic Life Support Provider course includes the following content:

- Pulse Checking

- Artificial Respiration

- AED (Automated External Defibrillation)

- BVM (Bag Valve Mask)

Completion Requirements: 100% attendance, skills demonstration, and passing grade on the written test.

Course Includes: Heart & Stroke - BLS Provider Manual

Certification: 1-year HSFC BLS Provider certification (E-Card).

Duration: Approximately 6.5 hours

- Pre-requisite for:

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (Register for ACLS) and Pediatric Advanced Life Support (Register for PALS) courses

*PLEASE BE ADVISED:

- Pre-requisite for BLS Provider Renewal Course: *PLEASE BE ADVISED: Only register for this course if you have a current Heart & Stroke BLS certification. If you register for this course and do not have a current certification, the cost to transfer to the correct course will be $10.00.

***The Heart & Stroke also offers a Prerequisite challenge, if you do not have a current Heart & Stroke BLS certification and wish to take the renewal course. To take the challenge please click on the link below.

Register for BLS Renewal Prerequisite Challenge

Description:The BLS Provider (Basic Life Support) RENEWAL course is a fast-paced concentrated course that assumes students have retained the cognitive knowledge learned in the Heart & Stroke BLS Provider course AND can demonstrate skills mastery. There is limited practice and opportunity for remedial coaching. Students MUST come prepared. Participants are expected to be highly proficient BLS providers.

A current BLS Provider Certification is required to register for the recertification. A copy must be emailed to: Upload@Canadian-Training.ca (before course date). If you are uncertain if your BLS certification is current please feel free to contact the Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada directly at: 1-877-473-0333

---

Want to register for Canadian Red Cross Oxygen Therapy & Airway Management? Click on the following link to help you decide:

Register for Oxygen Therapy & Airway Management!

---

Have questions? Not sure if this course is what you need? Call us today to register / learn more!

Current In-house Public Course Schedule

Saturday March 09 (09:00 am - 03:30 pm)
Monday March 25 (09:00 am - 03:30 pm)
Wednesday April 17 (09:00 am - 03:30 pm)

Night Courses

Monday March 11 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday March 18 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Wednesday April 03 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday April 08 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday April 15 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday April 22 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday April 29 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday May 06 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
Monday May 13 (05:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Renewal Courses

Tuesday March 05 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday March 12 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday March 19 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday March 26 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday April 02 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday April 09 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday April 16 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday April 23 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday April 30 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday May 07 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)
Tuesday May 14 (06:00 pm - 09:00 pm)

Heart&Stroke2

Select a Course

Click on the course that you would like more information on.

Select a Date

Choose from a variety of dates to access the registration form.

Complete Registration

Complete the form and add payment info.